The Crown


Death/Thrash metal band from Trollhättan, Sweden. The Crown was originally formed as Crown of Thorns in 1990 by Johan Lindstrand (vocals), Robert Österberg (guitar), Marco Tervonen (guitar), Magnus Osfelt (bass) and Janne Saarenpää. They released two demos, "Forever Heaven Gone" in 1993 and "Forget the Light" in 1994 and shortly after Österberg was replaced by Marcus Sunesson. The band was eventually signed to "Black Sun Records" where they released their debut album "The Burning" in 1995. The album featured both new material and songs from the demos. It was followed by "Eternal Death" in 1996. This was the last release under the name Crown of Thorns... In 1997 the band was forced to change name because a Christian glam-pop group had the rights to the name. The name was then changed to The Crown. In 1998 the band went on an European tour and during the tour a person from Metal Blade Records saw their talent and they eventually got a record deal. This lead to the release of "Hell is Here" in 1998. The band 'celebrated' the release by taking part in the No Mercy Tour. In 1999 "Deathrace King" was recorded in the new built Studio Fredman. This resulted in a great production and the album also featured Tomas Lindberg (ex-At the Gates) and Mika Luttinen (Impaled Nazarene) as guest vocalists. It was released in 2000. In 2001 Johan Lindstrand decided to leave the band after 11 years and shortly after he was replaced by Tomas Lindberg. "Crowned in Terror" was then released in 2002. Lindbergs stay was however short as he was fired same year the album was released. Johan Lindstrand returned and together they recorded the album, "Possessed 13", which was released in 2003. The bands last release was "Crowned Unholy" which is a rerelease of "Crowned in Terror" with Johan Lindstrand on vocals. The band then disbanded in 2004.